A Love Resurrected

As a first post, I don’t see how it could be any more fitting than to talk about my taste in music. I’m an old soul in a young body, meaning that my iTunes playlist is consumed by old songs, a little bit of Jimmy Buffett, a dash of Metallica, some Johnny Cash and Stan Rogers when I’m in the mood for some peace and quiet, and not forgetting the required dose of Hotel California for the road. But one genre I’ve made my rule to always have on an iTunes list is OPM.

I’ve listened to OPM as far back as I can remember. One does not simply live in the Philippines and not hear a Parokya Ni Edgar, Itchyworms, or Eraserheads song at least once. But my list also goes farther back to the days when the Juan dela Cruz Band, Asin, Yoyoy Villame, and APO Hiking Society ruled the Pinoy musical roost.

However, I must admit that love waned into total darkness over the past few years. it just seemed that the music I’ve loved for so long and held in such high regard faded into just rehashed crap or parodies of foreign songs. Nowadays, one may hear over the radio a K-Pop song, an overplayed, autotune-riddled mess, or the radio DJ giggling like a loon on a sugar high or making comments that would make even the most immature brat cringe with disgust. It seemed to me that OPM was dead and that what was once a respectable genre was now replaced with complete, asinine, CRAP.

Earlier this year, back when I was still in High School, I helped document an event called TEDxXavierSchool. One speaker that struck me the most was a person named Aristotle Pollisco, better known to the masses by his stage name Gloc-9. I only knew the rapper from my old favorite “Bagsakan” by him, Parokya Ni Edgar’s Chito Miranda, and the late, great Francis “Kiko” Magalona.

Gloc 9 pretty much talked about how he became the rapper he is today, and I couldn’t help but become interested again in what Pinoy music was like nowadays. The Modern Pinoy Music, or “MPM”, if you will. I came across his recent album, “MKNM: Mga Kwento Ng Makata” at a nearby music store near my place and popped it into my laptop, ready to be disappointed.

To put it simple, I loved it.

The songs not only educated and enamored me, it jump-started my old love for Filipino music that I once thought dead and gone. It motivated me to not only hunt for more Gloc-9 songs, but to fill my iTunes with more Filipino songs, both young and old.

I’ve met Gloc-9 two other times since January, uring the Xavier School Variety Show and at Free Comic Book Day 2013, and I’m always remembered about that fateful day he resurrected my love for Pinoy songs. And I can’t be any more thankful to “Sir Gloc” for doing so. It’s made me realize just how much I’ve missed and how much more I need to learn in being appreciative of the songs of my people.08062013754

Leave a Reply

