Combat Sports In Schools

I’m a huge fan of combat sports. HUGE. I love watching a sport where men and women meet in a ring or an octagon and duke it out to see who is the best. I also used to be a bully. I used to pick on guys smaller than me until an eye-opener made me see that the shit isn’t going to fly in the real world. Plus, I’m the type of guy who needs a combat sport. Basketball just wasn’t doing it for me physically and mentally the way boxing did when I started earlier this year. I’m just the type of guy that needs to punch something in order to feel better, and boxing did just that. It’s more than my sport, it’s my therapy.

Which brings me to the subject of today’s blog. I believe that combat sports should be taught as a Physical Education class in schools. I understand that martial arts like Tae Kwon Do and Karate are already school sports, but I believe that should be expanded to other forms of combat sport. Boxing, Wrestling, Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, Vale Tudo, Judo, etc. should also be taught, as well as the disciplines that follow. That the skills they learn through combat should only be used when direly necessary, not just when they feel like it or for their own ego boost.

You may be thinking, “That would just make bullies pick on other kids.” That may be a possibility, but I don’t think their targets would be so helpless when they are taught how to fight. As a former bully, my mentality was to target the people who seemed to have a disadvantage against me. Don’t target the ones who know how to beat me up instead of the other way around, target the helpless. If more kids knew how to fight and defend themselves, especially the victims, then I believe the bullies would most likely think twice about picking on their victims.

Also, as a former bully, I also needed a medium to vent or release excess energy on. Prior to boxing, I didn’t have anything to vent my feelings on aside from other people so I would just find those who I figured were easy picking and just bully them. Boxing, as I said earlier isn’t just a sport for me, it’s therapy. It’s a way for me to vent my emotions or release any excess energy I have in body. And I stand firm in the belief that there are students and kids out there who feel the same as I do and just need combat sport in their school as their therapy for emotion management.

But again, the victims aren’t always going to win. It’s a known fact that in life you win some and you lose some. However, that’s what I believe makes a person stronger. In a fight, you’re not always going to win. Some days your opponent will beat you, other days it’ll be vice versa. Don’t teach kids to be so quick to pick up a gun, teach them to raise their fists and fight. No bullshit, no weapons. Just level the playing field and let them duke it out. Talking things over isn’t going to always work on everyone. Believe me, they tried it on me. Sometimes kids need to settle things over in a fistfight or a 1-on-1 brawl.

The victims don’t need to be the victims forever if they’re taught how to put up their dukes, defend themselves, and quit being so helpless. And bullies can’t be bullies if they can’t find anyone helpless to target. And I stand firm believing that if combat sports is taught in schools then it would benefit victim and/or bully physically, emotionally, spiritually, and psychologically.

Image

Leave a Reply

